Parliamentary Jazz awards: Jazz Venue of the Year

EFG London Jazz Festival scoops prestigious award for
Jazz Venue of the Year at the 2014 Parliamentary Jazz awards

To celebrate the British jazz scene, the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) was set up ten years ago, promoting the genre by highlighting artists, venues, media personalities and education services alike with industry-recognised awards. The 2014 awards were announced last night and Serious, the producer of live jazz, international and contemporary music, is thrilled to have received the award for Jazz Venue of the Year for the EFG London Jazz Festival, a category which encompasses jazz clubs, venues, festivals and promoters.

In addition to our Venue of the Year Award, a special mention belongs to two friends of Serious who also won awards at last night’s event. We were excited to see both Arun Ghosh and Ben Cottrell take centre stage for the APPJAG Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year and APPJAG Jazz Ensemble of the Year respectively. Both are alumni of the Take Five programme, an initiative for emerging creative jazz musicians produced by Serious. 

John Cumming, Director at Serious reflects ‘We are delighted to receive this award, it is an achievement shared not only by the team here at Serious but by our wider community of partners and supporters. The EFG London Jazz Festival is made possible by the efforts, dedication and support from a huge network of people, our title sponsor EFG and 50+ venue partners. Thank you to everyone involved, it’s already shaping up to be a fantastic 2014 Festival.’

Read the full press release here