Jump to main content
12-21 November 2021

Resolution 88

Resolution 88

Thu 18 November 2021

Stage time / 8:00pm

Doors / 7:00pm

Book Tickets


LONDON Spice of Life,
6 Moor Street



Hard-working combo combining classic jazz funk of the 70s with the ultra-modern.

Resolution 88 was formed in 2012 by keyboard player/MD and Incognito alumnus Tom O’Grady, who was inspired by Herbie Hancock and The Headhunters, the famous Mizell Bros productions and Don Blackman. Other influences include George Duke, Chick Corea, Jeff Lorber, Deodato, Lonnie Liston Smith, Crusaders and, more recently, ground-breaking artists such as Kaidi Tatham.

In 2013, Resolution 88 supported Snarky Puppy at the London Jazz Festival. Since then they have supported many famous artists, including Roy Ayers (twice), Marcus Miller, Christian McBride and Patrice Rushen, Larry Mizell and the Blackbyrds, Jeff Lorber and the Yellowjackets. In 2018, Tom and the band performed the classic Headhunters album live for their début at the famous New Morning club in Paris, followed by three late night shows at Ronnie Scott's.

". . . combining a passion for the classic jazz funk of the 70s with the ultra-modern . . . Revolutions is fantastic, setting a high standard for current UK jazz," - Jazz Journal

Already established as one of the UK’s leading exponents of funk jazz, the group's music is synonymous with the silky, buttery sound of the Rhodes piano. Resolution 88 have released three critically acclaimed albums: Resolution 88 (2014), Afterglow (2016), and Revolutions (2019). 'Revolutions' was an LP conceived around the experience of listening to music on vinyl and the arrangements enhance the quintet with overdubbed strings and brass (as a nod to albums such as Herbie Hancock's 'Manchild' LP) with special guests Vanessa Haynes (Incognito, van Morrison etc) whistling and Marcus Tenney (Butcher Brown) rapping.

For this EFG London Jazz Festival appearance, Resolution 88 are delighted to be performing at the Spice of Life, a Soho stronghold of live jazz - the programme will include tracks from all of their releases.


Tom O'Grady - Rhodes piano & synthesizers

Tiago Coimbra - Bass

Ric Elsworth - Drums

Alex Hitchcock - Tenor Sax

Oli Blake - Percussion

Want a reminder?

Set up your event reminder here

Remind me

Directions to the venue