Jump to main content
15 - 24 November 2024


Jazz Then and Now

Jazz Then and Now

Thu 16 November 2023

Stage time / 7:30pm

Doors / 7:00pm

New Creations


Southbank Centre / Queen Elizabeth Hall,
Belvedere Road
SE1 8 XX

From silence, music is born: composer Miho Hazama, guitarist Rob Luft and the BBC Concert Orchestra take a very personal journey into their shared jazz roots.

She’s been called ‘a breath of fresh air’, and Miho Hazama is one of the most energising (and talked-about) figures in contemporary jazz.

Best-known for her work with Metropole Orkest, for this show she brings the BBC Concert Orchestra to the EFG London Jazz Festival, joining guitarist (and former BBC New Generation Artist) Rob Luft in a programme as eclectic and as vibrant as Hazama herself.

Expect a freewheeling journey through multiple musical worlds, from Toshiko Akiyoshi to Duke Ellington.

That journey also goes by the way of a newly commissioned electric guitar concerto from Luft himself: ‘a homage’, he says, ‘to some of my idols of 20th-century British jazz – musicians such as Kenny Wheeler, John McLaughlin and Dave Holland.’ Iconic names: and they’ve never been in more stimulating company.

BBC Concert Orchestra

Miho Hazama
Rob Luft


Miho Hazama:
Minamino Bo
Rob Luft: G
uitar Concerto (From Silence, Music is Born)

Toshiko Akiyoshi:
Long Yellow Road
Peanut Brittle Brigade from Nutcracker Suite (after Tchaikovsky) arr. Miho Hazama for orchestra

Directions to the venue