Jump to main content

Jazz FM Awards 2020 Nominees in the EFG London Jazz Festival

The EFG London Jazz Festival 2020 will feature appearances from many of the nominees for this year’s Jazz FM Awards, which stream on Tuesday 27 October, 7pm, including performances from Rosie Turton (Breakthrough Act), Xhosa Cole (Breakthrough Act), Moses Boyd (The Innovation Award), Sarathy Korwar (The Innovation Award), Binker Golding (Instrumentalist Of The Year, Album of The Year), Shirley Tetteh (Instrumentalist Of The Year), Judi Jackson (Vocalist Of The Year), SEED Ensemble (PRS For Music UK Jazz Act of The Year, Album of The Year), Yazz Ahmed (PRS For Music UK Jazz Act of The Year, Album of The Year), Alice Zawadzki (Vocalist of The Year), Ashley Henry (Album of The Year) and Joe Armon-Jones (PRS For Music UK Jazz Act of The Year).

The nominations reflect what is currently a booming UK jazz scene and these artists are also to be found in this year’s Festival, with a streamed show from The Guardian ‘One To Watch’ Rosie Turton (Saturday 21 November) filmed at Total Refreshment Centre and a string of shows from Kings Place including composer/trumpeter Yazz Ahmed (Thursday 19 November) and award-winning saxophonist Binker Golding (Saturday 21 November), also available as live streams.

The iconic Church of Sound (Friday 20 November) returns with Nathaniel Facey, Shirley Tetteh and Moses Boyd joining Tomorrow’s Warriors’ young musicians led by Gary Crosby, in celebration of Charlie Parker’s Songbook on his 100th birthday. The Barbican will play host to Cassie Kinoshi’s Mercury Prize-nominated SEED Ensemble (Saturday 14 November), celebrating the songbook of Pharaoh Sanders on his 80th birthday, with Shabaka Hutchings, Ashley Henry, Richie Sievwright and Yahael Camara-Onono as special guests. On BBC FOUR, Jazz 625 (Friday 20 November) returns with an incredible line-up that includes Sarathy Korwar, Moses Boyd Exodus, Ezra Collective and Nubya Garcia, among others.

Current BBC Young Jazz Musician Xhosa Cole (Thursday 19 November) will bring together an all-star cast to perform Blue Note classic ‘Unity’, and also returns as guest soloist at the BBC Young Jazz Musician’s Finals on 14 November (live show) and 22 November (broadcast on BBC FOUR). Judi Jackson (Saturday 21 November) will perform jazz standards alongside material from her forthcoming debut album.

Alice Zawadzki
(Sunday 15 November) will perform alongside Shirley Smart and Misha Mullov-Abbado, and elsewhere Joe Armon-Jones and Ashley Henry are set to appear alongside Sarah Tandy in ‘Alone Together’ (Friday 20 November), a celebration of the sound of the solo piano.

In addition to Church of Sound, Ronnie Scott’s and Vortex are also nominated for Jazz FM’s Venue of The Year, with both landmark clubs home to an exciting line-up during the festival.

The visionary contemporary music/arts movement and record label jazz re:freshed is nominated in two categories: the Digital and Innovation Awards. Alongside Daniel Casimir & Tess Hirst at the Jazz Café (Sunday 15 November), many of the above-mentioned nominees have released on this label.

For a comprehensive guide to the festival please go to: www.efglondonjazzfestival.org.uk/whats-on

Share this article