Jump to main content

Shabaka Hutchings with Britten Sinfonia

Wed 18 November

Stage time / 8:00pm

Book Tickets
Don't Miss Be At The Gig Streams & Films


LONDON Barbican,
Silk Street


Live £20.00 + booking fee

Stream £12.50 + booking fee

Saxophonist, clarinettist, composer and band leader Shabaka Hutchings is one of the foremost proponents of the current British jazz scene, playing in a variety of groups, most notably Sons of Kemet, The Comet is Coming and Shabaka & the Ancestors, embracing influences from the sounds of London’s diverse club culture, including house, grime, jungle and dub.

In this concert his background as a classically trained artist will take centre stage. Blurring the lines between jazz and classical music he performs Copland’s Clarinet Concerto, written for the ‘King of Swing’ Benny Goodman, alongside Britten Sinfonia, followed by Stravinsky’s Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet, and a solo improvisation on clarinet.

Britten Sinfonia will conclude the programme with a performance of Copland’s musical portrait of 19th century pioneers, Appalachian Spring, which brings together traditional Shaker melodies with his quintessentially American sound.

Want a reminder?

Set up your event reminder here

Remind me

Directions to the venue