SFJAZZ Collective play Michael Jackson

LONDON Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace


An all-star ensemble including saxophonists Miguel Zenón and David Sánchez and brass players Sean Jones and Robin Eubanks, alongside a fiery rhythm section focus on the King of Pop, Michael Jackson.

Fresh compositions from the band sit alongside new arrangements of his work, from interpretations of lesser known gems as well as chart-topping hits from his diverse and endlessly inventive songbook.

The octet brings a probing intelligence, incisive lyricism, harmonic insight and rhythmic energy to these well-crafted pop tunes. They continue to build on a bold decade-long legacy creating original music and exploring the work of peerless composers.

'You can propose various definitions for what this band represents, but it’s a superbrain for what jazz sounds like now.' (The New York Times)

Miguel Zenón alto saxophone
David Sánchez tenor saxophone
Sean Jones trumpet
Robin Eubanks trombone
Warren Wolf vibraphone
Edward Simon piano
Matt Penman bass
Obed Calvaire drums

Part of the EFG Excellence Series.

'What better way to salute the work of Rod Temperton and Michael Jackson than with this super-tight band who will guarantee to pack a punch and have people dancing all night. World-class musicians playing some of the greatest music ever created in a stunning venue…can’t beat it!'

(Chris Gilvear, Jazz FM)

We’re delighted that participants from our Serious New Audiences scheme, which offers highly subsidised tickets to young people and community groups, will be joining us at this concert. Help us offer this opportunity to even more people by texting JAZZ11 £5 to 70070 to donate to our charity, Serious Trust. Find out more  here.